Rally Adriatico retirement: difficult preparation for the gravel WRC events

Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
Rally Adriatico retirement: difficult preparation for the gravel WRC events
The mistake did not let Nikolay Gryazin and Yaroslav Fedorov fight for victory at the Italian gravel championship rally.

This weekend, the crew of the SRT team took part in Rally Adriatico, the first gravel event in this season. The race in Italy was the next step in preparing for the WRC gravel, which Nikolay and Yaroslav will face at the end of the month.
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019
The crew did not set any tournament targets for the Italian race. The main goal was to "wheel in," gain speed on gravel and prepare for the Rally Portugal.
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019
There was small rain at the special stages right the night before the start, which made the road mainly damp and slippery. The crew went to the morning loop on medium tires, which, undoubtedly, put it at a disadvantage in comparison with the rivals.
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019

Nikolay Gryazin
Driver
"We chose the TL80 tires, although we understood that softer TL70s would fit better. We did it because at the Rally Portugal we will be able to choose only between the medium TL80 and the hard TL90. So we decided to get used to the tires that we will use at the WRC event.

Therefore, in the first loop, we had a very tough time. All rivals used soft tires, more suitable for these conditions, and we had to risk and slide a lot. Nevertheless, we showed a good result."
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019
Nikolay and Yaroslav finished the first section in the 2nd position overall, leading 2.8 seconds to the Frenchman Stephane Consani. At the same time, despite challenging conditions and the non-perfect choice of tires, the crew managed to win SS3.

The road began to dry out to the second loop, and the morning choice of tires was ideal then. Having changed the settings during the service, our crew began to attack, having won the SS5 and closed the gap from the leader to 1.3 seconds. Unfortunately, on the SS6 Nikolay hit the bank, and the car went off the road.
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019

Nikolay Gryazin
Driver
"We started the loop very well, having won the first stage, but I've made a mistake on the second one. It happens. Moreover, our plan implies that at the World Championship we go for the result, and during national rallies we work on speed, trying to go beyond the limits. These tactics raise the driver's speed on the pace notes, but it isn't safe.
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019
This time we weren't lucky, but I nevertheless was satisfied with the way I was driving under challenging conditions and coping with a non-optimal choice of tires. I only regret that we drove very little on a dry road, but we will still have the test session before the Rally Portugal. Let's hope that everything goes well in Portugal."
Nikolay Gryazin - Rally Adriatico 2019
Nikolay and Yaroslav will take part in tests in Sardinia before the start of the WRC Rally Portugal. The tests will be held from May 15th to 17th.

Сход на Rally Adriatico: непростая подготовка к гравийным этапам WRC

Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
Сход на Rally Adriatico: непростая подготовка к гравийным этапам WRC
Ошибка не позволила Николаю Грязину и Ярославу Федорову побороться за победу на этапе итальянского гравийного чемпионата.

В эти выходные экипаж команды SRT принял участие в Rally Adriatico – первом для себя гравийном этапе в этом сезоне. Гонка в Италии стала очередной ступенькой в процессе подготовки к «мировому» гравию, с которым Николаю и Ярославу предстоит столкнуться в конце месяца.
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
Каких-либо турнирных задач на итальянскую гонку экипаж перед собой не ставил. Главной целью было «вкатиться», набрать ход на гравийном покрытии и подготовиться к португальскому этапу WRC.
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
В ночь перед стартом над спецучастками прошел небольшой дождь, сделавший дорогу преимущественно сырой и скользкой. На утреннюю секцию экипаж отправился на шинах с составом средней жесткости, что, конечно же, поставило его в невыгодное положение по сравнению с соперниками.
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019

Николай Грязин
Пилот
«Мы выбрали шины TL80, хотя понимали, что более мягкие TL70 подошли бы лучше. Этот шаг был обусловлен тем, что на ралли Португалия можно будет выбирать только между средними TL80 и жесткими TL90. Мы решили, что будем привыкать к тем шинам, что будем использовать на этапе WRC.

Поэтому на первой секции нам пришлось очень нелегко. Все соперники ехали на более подходящих условиям мягких колесах, а нам приходилось рисковать и много скользить. Тем не менее, мы смогли показать хороший результат».
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
Первую секцию Николай и Ярослав завершили на второй позиции в абсолюте, уступая 2,8 секунды французу Стефану Консани. При этом, несмотря на сложные условия и неидеальный выбор шин, экипаж сумел выиграть третий спецучасток гонки.

Ко второй секции дорога начала подсыхать, и утренний выбор шин теперь оказался идеальным. Изменив настройки на сервисе, наши гонщики принялись атаковать, выиграв СУ5 и сократив отставание от лидера до 1,3 секунды. К сожалению, уже на СУ6 Николай зацепил земляной вал, и автомобиль вылетел с трассы.
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019

Николай Грязин
Пилот
«Мы очень хорошо начали секцию, выиграв первый доп, а вот на втором я ошибся. Но такое случается, тем более, что наш план подразумевает, что на чемпионате мира мы едем на результат, а на таких гонках работаем на скорость и поднимаем ход, стараясь ехать за гранью. Такая тактика поднимает скорость пилота по стенограмме, но не является безопасной.
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
В этот раз нам не повезло, но я всё же остался доволен тем, как ехал в сложных условиях и справлялся с неоптимальным выбором шин. Единственное сожаление вызывает тот факт, что мы очень мало проехали по сухой трассе, но у нас еще будут тесты. Будем надеяться, что в Португалии всё сложится хорошо».
Николай Грязин - ралли Адриатико 2019
До старта на португальском этапе WRC Николаю и Ярославу предстоит принять участие в тестах на Сардинии, которые пройдут с 15 по 17 мая.