Nikolay Gryazin carried out tests before Rally Finland

Nikolay Gryazin carried out tests before Rally Finland
The Russian rally driver is preparing for the most high-speed round of the World Rally Championship – thus he went to Finland last week and took part in the gravel test session.


The Finnish round of the WRC is famous for its high-speed special stages and plenty of jumps. These and some other conditions require proper training – the bulk of attention during tests is given to suspension performance, its energy consumption, and a driver's comfort.
During test session, Nikolay Gryazin had time to test his Skoda Fabia R5 on various kinds of roads including soft-surface twisty roads and high-speed roads with a significant number of jumps. The rain prevented Nikolay from accomplishing the whole list for the tests; however, he was satisfied with the result.

Nikolay Gryazin
Driver
"The tests were interesting and productive. We worked with shock absorbers, trying to choose the best solution in terms of car handling and energy consumption. We had time to drive on various kinds of roads including very high-speed and "jumpy" section with an average speed over 140km/h where the car is flying in the air a lot.
It's a pity we couldn't do everything that we'd planned because of rain, but on the other hand, we've found proper settings for the wet conditions. Nevertheless, we've accomplished the main task: found suspension settings for difficult Finnish roads. Moreover, we still can use the last year's basic settings from the Finnish Rally Championship."
This week Nikolay Gryazin and Yaroslav Fedorov's crew is starting in Rally Estonia, which will be the final warm-up before the Finnish WRC stage. Tartu race will take place on 12-14 July. SRT crew performance will be immediately covered in detail on the official website and in the Telegram channel.
Photo: Jonne Lantiainen

Николай Грязин провел тесты перед ралли Финляндия

Николай Грязин провел тесты перед ралли Финляндия
Российский гонщик готовится к самому скоростному этапу чемпионата мира по ралли – и с этой целью на прошлой неделе побывал в Финляндии, где провел гравийные тесты.

Финский этап мирового первенства славится своими высокоскоростными спецучастками и обилием трамплинов. Эти и ряд других условий требуют тщательной подготовки – и львиная доля внимания на тестах уделяется работе подвески, ее энергоемкости и комфорта для пилота.
За время тестовой сессии Николай Грязин успел опробовать свою Skoda Fabia R5 на разных по характеру дорогах – от извилистых с мягким покрытием до скоростных с множеством трамплинов. Выполнить весь перечень задач на тесты помешал дождь, однако результатом Николай остался доволен.

Николай Грязин
Пилот
«Тесты выдались интересными и продуктивными. Мы работали с амортизаторами, стараясь выбрать лучший вариант с точки зрения управляемости и энергоемкости. Успели проехать по разным дорогам, в том числе и по очень быстрому и "прыгучему" участку со средней скоростью свыше 140 км/ч, на котором машина много времени проводит в полете.
Жаль, что из-за дождя не удалось сделать все, что планировали, но, с другой стороны, мы нашли хорошие "мокрые" настройки. Впрочем, основную задачу – найти настройки подвески под непростые финские дороги – мы выполнили. К тому же, за плечами у нас сезон выступлений в чемпионате Финляндии, так что мы можем использовать и прошлогодние базовые наработки».
На этой неделе экипаж Николая Грязина и Ярослава Федорова выйдет на старт ралли Эстония, которое станет финальной разминкой перед финским этапом WRC. Гонка в Тарту пройдет с 12 по 14 июля. Выступление экипажа SRT будет подробно и оперативно освещаться на официальном сайте и в телеграм-канале.
Фото: Jonne Lantiainen